Tags

, , , , , ,

My favorite frontman from my all-time favorite punkrock band is thinking big again. I still can’t really believe what he’s planning to do now, and I think I’m not the only one amazed by his ambition.

Fact is, he has done a lot of things already. Besides playing in Green Day, Billie Joe Armstrong has founded two other bands that he played in as side-projects. He also played guest-roles in more than one series, and when he had the chance to be sitting at home with his friends and family, he still wanted to do more. He co-produced a musical version of the great album “American Idiot”. As if this wasn’t enough he decided to play a role in it. He just can’t sit still.

Now Green Day has released a trilogy album, and Billie Joe just got out of rehab. Finally some peace and quiet, but once again he won’t take that rest. Another musical, that’s what he’ll be starting. This time he’ll be writing punk rock songs for a new version of a Shakespeare musical. It sounds incredible, yet it is very true. 

“Billie Joe Armstrong is taking his punk rock back to the Elizabethan era, writing songs for a new version of Much Ado About Nothing. Green Day‘s frontman will compose original material for a 2014 production by the Yale Repertory Theatre.

Due in March 2014, These Paper Bullets will take Shakespeare’s play and reimagine it in modern England. Rolin Jones’s adaptation follows a Liverpool rock band as they “find their way in the London music scene”,Playbill reported. Given the setting, Armstrong’s songs may be more Rubber Soul than Dookie.” [From the Guardian]

I’m absolutely thrilled and can’t wait to hear more news about this! Hopefully I will be able to see this musical, and hopefully it will come closer to me than the American Idiot Musical. I couldn’t get to see that one since I had no chance to get abroad.

I am so curious of how this will turn out. Somehow he always seems to do the most unexpected things, including the one this time. I very much hope that it will be a most awesome experience.